Any CruzBikers competing in the Race Across the West aka RAW?

RojoRacing

Donut Powered Wise-guy
Ive been constantly hounded by a certain individual about wanting me to enter the RAW ever since I finished the 24hr worlds last year. Organizing a chase vehicle and crew for a race like this is something I have no experience with and honestly just seems like too much hassle.

I'm just looking for a little insight to the ins and outs of the chase vehicle deal. Also is anyone else going to race it? Do the winners of the RAW even sleep?

ratz

Wielder of the Rubber Mallet
Word has it via Jim's Blog post that Ben has been considering whether it's RAAM or RAW in the future.

LarryOz

Cruzeum Curator & Sigma Wrangler
Word has it via Jim's Blog post that Ben has been considering whether it's RAAM or RAW in the future.
I think I remember talking with Ben and that he indicated that he would ride RAW this year as kind of a pre-cursor to RAAM - i.e. help him try and figure out planning, logistics, etc for the longer RAAM ride later.
Jason, I'm not sure how often, or even if Ben gets on this forum, but I talk with him via text and email sometimes.
Send me your email and I'll forward it to him and you can strike up the conversation with him.

RojoRacing

Donut Powered Wise-guy
I'm pretty sure we're connected via FB. I was under the impression he was going full RAMM but honestly he seemed slightly hesitant after his 24hr worlds result.

I'm also freaking out about the cost to enter the race. If each rider is required to bring their own mobile aid station then why does it cost $1000 to enter? Why are RAMM related events so expensive? How much was Sebring 24hr?

Last edited:

LarryOz

Cruzeum Curator & Sigma Wrangler
I think Sebring 24 was about $100 or so.
Yes, I like the RAAM concept, but the cost is so exorbitant! That is probably why I'll never do it even if I thought I could unless there was someone who fully sponsored my - which would never happen! :)