First Century on My Cruzbike Silvio

Andrew 1973

Zen MBB Master
I have been riding a Cruzbike Silvio since June 2013 and until this past weekend, my farthest ride of the season has been forty-five miles. However, this ride, known as the Tour De Round-O takes place annually in the tiny town of Round O, South Carolina and offers rides of thirty-five, sixty-four and one hundred miles. While I have not properly trained to do a full century, I knew this would be a flat course and might be my only opportunity to ride a century this year. Read More

Ride Statistics

BentBierz

Hi Andrew,
Interesting

Hi Andrew,

Interesting write-up on your blog...it made me anxious to get my Silvio completed (still waiting for SRAM 22 parts) and an OK from my surgeon to get back out on the road.

Congrats on completing your first century...it sounds like you found a good pace for your first century and also the realization that your goal of sub-5 is well within the realm of possibility. Good job!

Jeremy S

Dude
The Silvio performed

The Silvio performed flawlessly and was comfortable. I was concerned about just how well I had my fit dialed-in, since I have not spend longer than a couple hours at one time in the seat. There was no discomfort in my hands, neck or back and I paid notice to the fact that the saddle-soreness I was used to on a road bike was nowhere to be found. The only issue that I had was pain in my left knee which feels like the familiar pain from pushing too large of a gear at low cadence. Thinking back to my riding style, this is likely the case and I will have to remember in the future to focus on a smooth, faster spin using lower gears.

From a fellow masher: I've found that having the pedals a little too close, increasing knee bend, can cause knee discomfort. Consider if you have room to move the pedals a bit farther out.

Andrew 1973

Zen MBB Master
Knees

Jeremy,