First time on a Cruzbike

Osiris

Zen MBB Master
As of last Sunday, I have roughly 80 miles on my Vendetta V20. To my surprise, it's actually much easier to ride than I'd been led to expect. I have several years of experience riding a Bacchetta CA2 and M5 CHR, but I'm not sure whether that helped or hurt me, because pedaling and steering an MBB takes quite a bit of mental reprogramming if you're accustomed to a RWD. At this point I'm so used to the alternating push-pull on the handlebars that I can keep the V20 tracking perfectly straight without having to think about it any longer. I have not yet discovered the art of climbing hills with it, so I may work on that next weekend. Ironically, the thing it seems to do best is just what I thought would be the most difficult: steering around tight turns. It actually negotiates turn beautifully, and seems to require less lean angle than my other bents. There's something very natural about pointing your feet in the direction you want to go, and the fact that there's no danger of my pedals hitting the front wheel, or my handlebars (in the case of the CA2) hitting my thighs, takes away the two things that bothered me the most about riding recumbents. Hopefully the perfect riding weather we're having will last through the weekend so that I can get some more saddle time.

LarryOz

Cruzeum Curator & Sigma Wrangler
Thanks for the report. So glad you have mastered it so quickly! Can not wait to hear how you tackle the hills.

DavidCH

In thought; expanding the paradigm of traversity
Yep. The hills will blow the cobwebs away for sure... love the acceleration and all those chasing you go smaller and smaller

jond

Zen MBB Master
Yes welcome and congratulations on a great bike.

I reckon and recommend no matter your experience doing ratz,s drills / skill acquisition as mandatory to help your cycling safely including low speed hill climbing.

The nuances of the bike are rewarding. And fast. Enjoy.

Osiris

Zen MBB Master