Gates Carbon Drive + Geared Hub

georgec

NOTE: By mistake, I first emailed this directly to Cruzbike instead of posting to the forum. Doug Burton provided a very helpful response, which I have attached below, with his permission.

Date: Thursday, July 12, 2012, 3:47 PM

I would like to buy a Softrider or Silvio for commuting and weekend riding. These look like bikes that will be fun to ride for a long time. But I hate chain/shifter/grease/mess/on frame and pants. I have read stories of the MBB making love to the rider's leg, which I can easily visualize it doing to my leg. I also understand that these parts run cleaner on a Cruzbike... Really! But... they are still greasy, right?

So... I would like to put a carbon belt drive / IGH (internally geared hub) on the Softrider or Silvio. When I look around the forums, I see a fair bit of angst around this idea. But I am a handy engineer with access to a good machine shop and willing to void my warranty, at least on certain parts.

As far as I can tell from the forums, the key question is how you tension the belt.

Here are a few scenarios I would like to suggest:

A) Silvio: Modify the joint between the BB and carbon stay to allow adjustment of overall length. It looks like the stay has a bead that locks into a slot on the BB. The most primitive approach I can think of is to grind (ouch!) the bead off and put a tapered shim in above it. This leaves bolt pressure alone to secure the stay to the bottom bracket.

B) Softrider: Cut the front stay forks on each side a few inches from the hub end. Thread the parts internally with right hand threads toward the bottom bracket and left hand threads toward the hub. Make a matching contra-threaded insert that allows overall stay length to be adjusted independently on each side. This makes each side of the stay into a sort of turnbuckle.