I almost own a Vendetta - Learning curve?

I should hopefully confirm the purchase of a second hand vendetta today - been keeping my eye out for about two years, but they don't appear very often on this side of the pond.

I've been riding 'bents for about two years now (Currently riding an M5 M-Racer) and I'm wondering whether I will have a steep learning curve or not? The plan would be to focus on the Vendetta until I'm comfortable with it

trapdoor2

Zen MBB Master
@ratz has a tutorial posted here that is excellent.

I transitioned from an Optima Baron...(with some intermediate steps in more upright Cruzbikes) and found the V to be quite a bit easier to learn than the Baron.

RojoRacing

Donut Powered Wise-guy
It's different for each person so we can't answer you question. It took me longer then I'd have liked but it all relative. I've seen experience recumbent riders hop on and get to were I was after two weeks in the first 10 mins. Practice the drills and be patient.

Bill K

Guru
I went from a high-racer stick bike (40 degree seat angle) to a V20 and the learning curve was about what I expected. For me, the lower seat angle (which I think you are already familiar with) was as hard to get used to as the pedal steer.

Ride one was 1-hour in the parking lot:
https://www.strava.com/activities/445764124
Ride two was 18 miles on the bike path:
https://www.strava.com/activities/447465112

It was a couple weeks before I was comfortable riding on the street with traffic or riding it to work.
Like @RojoRacing said, practice the drills and be patient. Short rides every day are better than one long ride.
Keep the downhill speed down until your reactions have acclimated.
So, it was not what I consider to be a steep learning curve but it does take some time to master.

Reactions: joy

JOSEPHWEISSERT

Zen MBB Master