I ordered a Silvio...Built it Up...and my First Ride...and 300 miles later!

Rick Youngblood

CarbonCraft Master
Hello all~

Well yesterday I sold my Catbike Musashi and ordered a Silvio 2.1 frameset. I'm quite excited
regular_smile.gif
to say the least.

I've been reading many of the posts to gather information about the build. I have pretty much everything I need for the build with the exception of the road shifter/brake combo. I ordered just about the least expensive set I could find to work with my existing Sram components - the Apex. I've never used ridden a road bike before, so I'm not familiar with these double tap shifting levers.

The build will include BB7 disc brakes - I'm a huge fan of disc bakes, as I have my Meta Bike setup with Shimano SLX hydraulic brakes which I love

It is my understanding from previous posts to go with a 140mm disc in the rear? Right?

What is the largest tire the frame will take with discs? I would like to go with 32mm if posible.

I have an FSA wheelset that is 130mm x 100mm axle widths. So the front (rear 130mm) should slide in without issues.

I plan on using my FSA triple, which I converted to a double by removing the outer large ring and replacing it with a ring guard. The inners are 44t x 130BCD q-ring and 25t x 74BCD q-ring. It seems a spacer or two (3.5mm) may be required to get the appropriate clearance for the 74BCD to work?

So, what bags will work with this seat? For my Meta Bike I have two bags (Bent-Up) like the Radicle Design, one a small aero and the other is much bigger with more volume. I also have a Bacchetta Brain Bag.

I'm sure I will have some questions once I start putting the bike together (I'm doing the build myself BTW).

The 27 degreed seat angle seems like it may be perfect for me, as that is about where I have my meta Bike setup at.

Charles.Plager

Recumbent Quant
Hi

Hi Rick,

Congratulations!

Yes, I'm pretty sure that 140mm fits in the back (and probably no need to go bigger).