Multi-Day Ride: 100 miles a day

Ivan

Guru
I have been planning and training myself up for my 40th birthday present - a 100 miles/170km a day solo ride over 6 consecutive days from Singapore - Malaysia - Thailand on my Silvio 2. I have never done anything like this before. I've been increasing mileage, dropping weight, aware of muscle soreness/injury etc, and generally feeling good. Intended departure is just 6 weeks away but I do have some questions if some can share from your own ultra experiences or point me to URLs (I've read quite a bit but am sure there's a great resource out there I've missed).

1. To ride a century comfortably you can typically ride 70% of the mileage in training and you'll do the century day comfortably. But what about doing multi-day back to back centuries? If I can ride 2 back to back centuries in training at home without much bother, then will I be fine?

2. Is it best to have a "recover day" halfway through the ride. I'm not sightseeing, so I don't want that kind of recovery, but should I have a slow 30 mile day halfway through? Or is it better to spread it all out pretty evenly?

3. I am struggling to put in the time / mileage on my regular schedule now. For example, I've been waking up super early to do 3 hour morning rides to work - clocking up 100km on a regular work day. But then I end up not getting enough sleep, or yesterday I didn't enough so today's ride was lackluster. General advice? This is part of the learning journey I guess. Which is why I ask #1 - is it enough to just build up to 2 back to back centuries. I can definitely do that in the remaining weeks. If more than that then, I need to take stock carefully.

Thanks for your advice - especially you crazy ultra guys. I wanna be like you! Ha!

snilard

Guru of hot glue gun
Hi.
I would like to share

Hi.