New/Old Q559 rider

Rocky1405

Hi Everybody! I have ridden bikes since I was 5 years old and that means I have been riding for over 68 years! Beats me where the time went but it sure did fly by - especially when I was on my bikes over those years. I tried jogging and did it for 6 years before realizing I was never going to get better at it so I quit that before my knees gave out. Then for exercise I walked a lot but always was bored but never have been bored when riding bikes so I went back to cranking away for my main exercise. Over the years I have tried all kinds of bikes and back in 2004 bought a "Comfort" or "Hi-Bred: Raleigh Passage 4.0 - I managed to ride that for about 15,000 miles - wore out the wheels and the running gear and had it rebuilt twice. Ended up spending more money on just the replacement wheels than on the initial purchase price of the bike. I loved that bike until the close of last riding season in November here in MN when I realized that no matter which seat I put on it my old body was only gonna be able to sit on it for 90 minutes before my posterior gave up and it just plain hurt too much to keep riding longer than that. Our bodies change as we age and my rear end "cushion" is getting depleted - it seems to have wanted to move up and bulge over my belt! I didn't want to quit riding and I want to ride farther and longer so I started to look into recumbent bikes - I rode a BikeE for 4 years back in 1999 until the end of the season of 2003 - wore out the shifter on that at least once before selling it so I did have some recumbent experience before deciding to buy a Q559 last fall. The BikeE was just too slow or I would have kept it because the riding position was pretty comfortable. I liked the specs on the "Q" and appreciated all the info on YouTube about it so I bought it and managed to assemble it to get it ready for the 2016 riding season. Without going into details I want to say the instructions could be more detailed - especially with be