New Silvio Owner advice needed

oldcyclist1950

Hi folks, my last post was "Trying to decide" and I decided. I got delivery of my new Silvio yesterday and went out today. Got comfy in a coast, started pedaling, even started out on an incline although it took me 4 tries. BUT, I dont have the courage to do a complete relaxed leaned back ride yet. Any advice on the balance? Ive been riding urights for 30 years and this is like learning all over again. So HELP!! Tomorrow I go out to do it again. I am stoked but shaky! Thanks, Sandy

oldcyclist1950

So perhaps I am a little

So perhaps I am a little impatient. Ha, patience is a virtue and I hve none. So I will head out tomorrow and do a bit longer a bit more relaxed. We've got some pretty good climbs in the neighborhood so what goe up comes back down. And the flag idea is perfect...I will certainly do that. THANKS

LarryOz

Cruzeum Curator & Sigma Wrangler
Congrats on your new purchase

I too got a Silvio back in June, after being a DF rider for 50 years or so.
It took me about a week before I could ride on the road with cars.
Look up flinstoning on the site to give you some more ideas.
For me - I just gently coasted down a slight decline just learning my balance and then each time went a little farther around the loop and back up the other side.
Eventually I could ride around our subdivision - and about 10 days later I was commuting to work.
I really got addicted to the recumbent way of riding and before long I was stretching my 8 mile ride to 20, then 25.
10 weeks after I started I rode in a 12 hour race. It was great, and my appetite was wetted for more.
Good luck, be save, and make sure you get a mirror on your handlebar (if you haven't already- as no other way to see the cars behind you. I would suggest a flag off the back to. It is harder for the cars to see you because you are so low.

LarryOz

Cruzeum Curator & Sigma Wrangler
btw -

Walter, you might be wondering why all the strange avatars and screen names.