New to a recumbent

ccetex

I'm new to recumbent bikes, actually I haven't ridden bikes much since college. Last Memorial Day I saw a very strange bike at a camp ground we were at. (not a recumbent) It was an Elliptigo. Come to find out a friend of mine had 3 so I borrowed one and loved the fact that none of my joints or back hurt after riding it. I had my left knee replaced in 2008 and was a little concerned, but no problem.
I bought one and started riding for about 30 minutes a couple of times a week.

Last September I had my 59th birthday and decided to make a bucket list of things I want to do before the big 60. One was to ride in a 100 miler (don't ask why, I have no reason). My friend has ridden in two on his Ellipitgo so I thought I can do that. Last Friday I rode in a hard wind for an hour and could only average 12 MPH. I had been kind of looking for something to get under the wind but thought I could be tough and get through standing up. Well Saturday morning I got out on a beautiful morning, no wind, a little cool, but it warmed up and I rode 25 miles. The bad news was I still averaged just over 12 MPH and felt like with the effort I put in I should of done better.

As luck would have it there was a 2012 1.5 Silvio on ebay in Lubbock and it had less than 100 miles on it. I did some fast research and really liked everything I could find about the bike. I went and looked at it Saturday and made a deal.

My question is, am I crazy thinking I can get use to the Silvio and ride a century ride on May 3rd?

By the way, I have lost 42 pounds the last 6 months and I'm in better shape than I have been in years.
(another item on the bucket list)

The bike went to the shop today to get fine tuned, the previous owner was about 6'2" and I'm 5'8".
They are taking the extension out and adjusting everything.

I am very motivated to ride this bike. The more I read the more excited I get about the possibilities.

Charles.Plager

Recumbent Quant
A month is a short time to