Recumbent Newbie

torkjunky

Hope I don't offend anyone form what I build insted of buying a Cruzbike but thought I would try frist and learn to ride the thing. I started riding a few years ago cause my son wanted to ride in HHH in Texas. So I bought a used bike started riding and love it now. But long rides my neck and hands hurt. So I thought I would try recumbents. I found a swb vision in good shape and started riding it and like very much but climbing is not what I thought it would be. I have built and fabricated stuff all my life so I thought I would try and build a MBB after seeing the Vendetta. Bike looks fast setting still. Anyway I built a bike and started riding. Did a lot of reading and video watching but still didn't really think I would have trouble learning but was wrong. Really wobblie and dart really bad while pedeling. The other day I pushed the bars about 1 1/2" forward and it all came together. I was stable and not jerking. Still have to work on slow speed and turning around at slow speed but really like it more each time I get on it. Does clipin pedels help and how long should someone wait before using them?

Just wanded to thank everyone on this forum for all the tips and videos that have been posted. Hope a real Cruzbike purchase is in the future.

bladderhead

Zen MBB Master
I am just a customer of this company. I hope I do not offend anybody now, because I am saying that nobody will be offended by an imitation-Cruzbike.

Try first and learn. I got a conversion-kit because it was the cheapest Cruzbike. I just about managed to control it, but it was a fight. I graduated to a Silvio, which turned out to be a lot easier. Is your design very similar to the Vendetta? I think that just a tiny difference in shape might radically alter the handling.