Silvio - Success Story

randyspann

I've been riding conventional roadbikes for a few years. Three years ago I developed a shoulder rotator cuff problem that made riding very painfull. I ran across the silvio on the cruzbike site, I thought maybe a recumbent would solve my problem. But the price tag and some very un-encouraging comments from other recumbent riders made me hessitant to take the plunge. Then last year the pain grew to the point that I didn't ride at all. I didn't want to give up my love for bicycling, I was heart broken. Finally I purchased a used silvio from a fellow cruzbiker on this site.
First couple of rides were just parking lot sessions. I live in New Hampshire, ie. no flats, all mountains! So next I found a one mile secluded stretch and rode up and down for about 10 miles. Pretty ugly, but no falls and kept it between the ditches. My first "real" ride, I went to one of my favorite 7 mile training loops. I hadn't mounted my computer and it seemed very slow, and I couldn't climb...anything! I was beginning to think I had made a big mistake, (was I that far out of shape, or was the silvio just a pipe dream?). So I mounted the silvio in my trainer and worked out for a few days getting my legs back. Then this Saturday I rode 22 miles at 13mph average, probably better than my conventional bike for early get-in-shape runs. The silvio is deceptively fast. I am elated! No shoulder pain, and I am able to hold a straight line. Even passed a couple of other riders. And yes I got the 'looks', not many 'bents around here. No, my legs are not ready for the long climbs, but I didn't do too bad considering it's my first real test. So for only 38 miles on my computer, I think soon I will conquer the hills, and pickup speed.
So if there are other riders out there "on the fence", give cruzbike another look, I think you won't be sorry. The comfort, the total body workout (I can even feel it in my butt muscles!), the cruzbike quality, make so much sense.

COBRA GT