Silvio

Bender

Hi Everyone,

I have just ordered my Silvio and can't wait to get it and start my build. I've been riding and building for many years. I have all kinds of uprights and three recumbents, two trikes and a swb Horizon. My garage/shop is filled with components that I have tried and set aside, so I have a lot of choices when it comes to a build. I live in Oregon and have a lot of hills in my daily rides. Any suggestions as to gearing and handlebar choice would be appreciated.

timt

some links that might answer your questions

Long thread with lots of handlebar ideas http://www.cruzbike.com/bullhorn-and-dropbar-options
My opinion: start with the bars that come with the Silvio. They are wide which is a good thing initially when you are first learning to ride an MBB and doing the push-pull thing. Several people have gone straight to narrow bars and managed just fine, but I think it would be easier with the wide bar. I may imitate Mrs. Ratz's drop bars and brifters shown in the thread a few hundred miles from now.

Thread that discusses fitting a triple crank to a Silvio, and includes some discussion of double vs. single.
http://cruzbike.com/74mm-bcd-inner-ring-silvio-2.0

Things to consider in gearing
Are you comfortable modifying parts?
I
n the riding you do, do you need smaller than a 30 tooth front ring?
Do you prefer a cassette with close ratio steps or a wide range cassette?
Do you prefer to leave your front in one ring all day or shift the front?

I went with an ultegra triple. I stay in the middle ring and use an 11-28 cassette. It's fairly flat around here, so I don't need a sub-30 granny (used the granny once so far when my legs were toasted). I went with the triple so that I'd have the option of downshifting. When it's necessary to replace my cassette, I may switch to a 12-27.