The "Learning to ride a Vendetta" diary

Tor Hovland

All right, as alluded to in this thread over here, I am logging my experience as I learn how to ride a Vendetta. I was originally going to buy a new Vendetta V20, but as the medium size is out of stock, that hasn't happened. But as luck would have it, we were planning to spend the summer in Grimstad, where Peder, the Norwegian Cruzbike distributor, lives, and he was in turn planning to go away on his vacation. Thus, it made perfect sense to ask him to let me rent his private Vendetta (ha, "private Vendetta" sounds quite cool :))

Anyway, being the nice guy he is, he agreed. We arrived in Grimstad yesterday, and I promptly went to pick up the bike. Here it is:

19690592315_c0df1b3a77_c.jpg

Peder helped to check the fit, then we mounted my platform pedals and went for a short test ride. I was very curious about this part. Would it be impossibly hard to get rolling on this thing? Or would it turn out to be easy? I have no experience with MBB bikes, but I own a Bacchetta Giro 26 and thus have a fair bit of experience with recumbent cycling. As it turned out, flintstoning the bike down a hill was no problem. But as soon as I tried lifting my feet to the pedals, the bike immediately raised an additional layer of challenge. In short, the feet on the pedals interfered with the steering done by my arms. It was, however, always easy to put the feet down in time whenever I felt out of control.

A little later, I was indeed able to ride with the feet on the pedals and actually turning the cranks, although the gearing was so low that I was just spinning the drivetrain, not powering the bike.

We put the bike on my car and I drove off, eager to get more acquainted to the bike. Here I am, ready for the second test ride:

19690595315_15cb521e0c_c.jpg