Twist shifters?

Rat Rider

Has anyone ever used twisters on a Silvio/Vendetta?

I have a nice XO set of which I am very fond. Probably relegated to the used part drawer...

hamishbarker

Has anyone ever used twisters on a Silvio/Vendetta?

I have a nice XO set of which I am very fond. Probably relegated to the used part drawer...
one good thing about brifters is the extra hand position they give out on the hoods. whrn i started riding the v i did use that posi occasionally to give a bit of forward crunch on steep grades. but not now that i'm used to the v laidback position.

i guess twisters could give the option for an m5 style "praying mantis" cockpit, although i wouldn't be too sure about how well that style works for mbb, especially when new to the mbb steering dynamics as you will be. as far as that walmart setup, yes i guess you could do it but it would mean lots of changing hand positions just to shift gears. twisters out at the ends of the drops could be done, but may touch the sides of the knee, especially on turns. migt look wierd, and aren't road drops diff diameterto mtb handlebars where twisters are usually used?

Last edited:

jond

Zen MBB Master
I used to have twist shifters on a mountain bike and loved them. I was also wondering how they would be on a Vendetta.
as a recent learner on a v i would think they would be problematic and add to the steep learning curve. i have xo twisters not gripshift on my gto trike. i think the twist movement would be adding to your initial instability. hamish is spot on with the extra position on the hoods being invaluable. but it would be not impossible far from it.

ratz

Wielder of the Rubber Mallet