UMCA Century Road Record Attempt - Oct 11, 2015

LarryOz

Cruzeum Curator & Sigma Wrangler
The day that has been planned for and trained for for months and months is almost upon me.
What seemed so far in the future and a distant dream has snuck up like a thief!

Tomorrow I will be attempting the UMCA Century Road record for age group 50-59 on a recumbent.
Much like Lief's quest for the N-S Washington record, I have no competition, no existing record to break.
Marko Baloh currently holds the fastest record time of "3:48:41" - of any rider any age on any bike, which is 26.24 mph. He road this record when he was 45 on a standard bicycle.
That takes some of the pressure off, or does it?
I want to make a good showing for recumbents, for the Cruzbike tribe, for my age (55).
I can feel the pressure now .... whatever time I ride will be a record ... that is pressure enough.

Many of you know this is my first year of racing. I rode my first recumbent: a Cruzbike (A Silvio 2.0) in June of 2014, traded it for a Vendetta in late September. I have been training and riding pretty steady since then.
I had a pretty good showing at Calvin's challenge in May, but since then there has a steady drop in my power and performance. Probably too much training for this old body?!?