Vendetta seat?

Rat Rider

I observe a different seat on the v20 compared to the Silvio v1.0 (the latter being a bike I rode for a season). Can someone tell me the difference? The Silvio seat was quite uncomfortable for me.

(I apologize if this has been rehashed a thousand times. I am a newbie to the forum and did not find an answer using the search.)

Jeremy S

Dude
I believe the Silvio 1.0 had an aluminum seat integrated with the frame, with a 45 degree seat back angle.

The V20 has a longer, narrower carbon fiber seat, attached to the frame with velcro and/or bolts, with a 20 degree seat back angle, and an integrated headrest.

Reactions: joy

ratz

Wielder of the Rubber Mallet
Building on that; the v20 and s30 have the new carbon fiber seat versus the hybrid carbon/fiberglass. It's lighter and a fair bit more comfortable than the Vendetta 2 and Silvio 2.0/2.1. The Ventisit pads are a nice upgrade for many over the foam legacy ones. Depends on what you like. When queried I usually say go with the stock one; if that isn't enough support then Ricks' seat upgrade is a solid solution nearly factory quality installation.

Last edited:

ratz

Hey Bob, I've been trying to justify the $230 price to myself for the seat upgrade, and I can't do it based on the claimed 1 pound weight difference. I had assumed the new seat was the same shape and therefore equally comfortable. It's not?
http://cruzbike.com/carbon-fiber-seat

It is more comfortable. Exact same shape. The lack of the seam and carbon make it feel more comfortable. I did the upgrade because I cracked my other one. On the vendetta I consider it worth it. On the Silvio I think the suspension makes the old one just fine. Ricks upgrade would be more viable for an upgrade on the older silvios.

Lief

Guru Schmuru
I believe the Silvio 1.0 had an aluminum seat integrated with the frame,
This is right - the Silvio 1.0 seat is part of the frame.