What I learned building out a pair of 2016 V20 Vendettas

I built out two 2016 V20 Vendettas for my wife and myself from framesets. I've had plenty of experience building bikes, but I haven't had any previous experience with Cruzbike. I'll append to this thread some of the things I learned along the way, with the caveat these might have been covered elsewhere in the forum...

image.jpeg

Steering tube/boom clamp

The steering tube/boom clamp doohickey (stem?) came from the factory installed on the boom incorrectly. This threw me for a loop for a while trying to put the triangle together. This photo shows the correct orientation for the clamp. The two provided steering tube spacers need to go below the stem so that the boom clears the top of the steering tube.

You have to lube the boom clamp bolt. The first time I put this together the bolt seized up without fully tightening the boom clamp. I ended up striping the hex head trying to loosen that bolt. Fortunately Cruzbike provides a couple extra clamp bolts with the frameset, so I drilled that one out and put a drop of oil on the next bolt. That made all the difference.

You will want to route your cables through the space in the stem/boom clamp to keep the cables away from your legs while pedaling.

Correct stem/boom clamp orientation:
image.jpeg

I'm having difficulty adding more than one photo to a single post. I may have to compress them more.

This is the orientation that came from the factory. You need to flip the steering tube clamp over.
image.jpeg

Boom bottle mounts

The V20 comes with bottle mounts on the upper part of the boom, which will be convenient for taller riders. However, these bottle mounts limit how far you can slide the boom together. Nancy is 5'3'' (160cm), so I had the choice of cutting the boom or removing the bottle mounts. Any bike shop can rivet bottle mounts back in so drilling those out was the fairly non-destructive option.