Wheelsets??

stargate69

I'm a 230# newbie to being recumbent who just bought a Silvio. I, and my bike builder, were wondering if the 'new' rear wheel had to be any different from the 'old' front wheel due to 'different' weight distribution ??? Know what I mean ??? Thanks for your responses ....

I'm a 230# newbie to being recumbent who just bought a Silvio. I, and my bike builder, were wondering if the 'new' rear wheel had to be any different from the 'old' front wheel due to 'different' weight distribution ??? Know what I mean ??? Thanks for your responses ....
I'm #275 and I'm riding a Mavic Open Pro rim, 36 spokes and a meh hub with Gatorskins and having no problems.

I'd tell my wheelbuilder to err on the side of robust rather than featherweight. I'm riding borrowed wheels so I'm actively considering new wheel options. One fringe benefit of having a front wheel in back is that front hubs are cheaper. You can spring for a higher quality hub there at incrementally less cost.

ratz

Wielder of the Rubber Mallet
It's not so much the weight of the rider as it is what you do to the wheel.

Think about the left and right torquing you do on a DF if you smash up a hill levering the bike left and right. Those lateral forces + pot holes + train tracks are what wreck wheels. Spoke count is about lateral forces under weight; turn a wheel at an angle and apply a heavy downward force tangent to the face of the wheel and the wheel will deform. Mean while Pot holes and train tracks are about the quality of the build on the wheel and the qualify of the rim; assuming the tire is properly inflated to protect the rim how much direct linear force can it absorb.