Carbon Fiber Fun

Rick Youngblood

CarbonCraft Master
So far this has been a wet winter here in Northern California leaving me time to learn a thing or two about how to layup carbon fiber.

My main goal is to build a carbon fiber tailbox for my Vendetta (or Silvio). I watched a lot of videos online, and read a few how to articles. Purchase some carbon fiber cloth, resin/hardener, etc. I decide to start out laying up a few small items to test the waters and get a feel for how this works and found it's quite easy and most likely any do-it-yourself-er can layup carbon fiber. Now of course I'm not going to pretend I'm a pro, as I've still got a lot to learn yet, and haven't even got into vacuum bagging yet. My projects have only been hand laying up the CF using a roller and paint brush.

Below are some photos of a neck rest mast and the pad rest with compounded curves. And a CF plate mounted to my bag to mount my tail light to (mostly just for the CF look).

As I've discovered, the most important part of a CF project is the mold or a way to mold the CF.

Vendetta-CF-Headrest5.jpg Vendetta-CF-Headrest3.jpg Vendetta-CF-Headrest2.jpg Vendetta-CF-Headrest1.jpg Vendetta-CF-Headrest7.jpg Vendetta-CF-Headrest6.jpg Vendetta-CF-Headrest8.jpg Vendetta-CF-Headrest9.jpg Vendetta-CF-Headrest10.jpg

Bentas

Great work Rick,,just thinking about starting to dabble in cf myself ,as mentioned in another post I have aspirations to reduce the front triangle weight of my home built mbb with carbon , pictured is the beginnings of the boom made from a discarded racing rowing oar.Would love to see some step by step pics of your wok in future .your attention to detail +1as usual .

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    312.8 KB · Views: 52
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    388.7 KB · Views: 50

Rick Youngblood

CarbonCraft Master
Is that a click-stand on your chainstay?