Kick butt new front-page photo!

tiltmaniac

Zen MBB Master
So much awesome there!

raam.jpg

Patineto

Sorry I'm just learning about cruzbikes, is that consider a ''standing up'' on the pedals..

Incredible picture, that design makes so much sense..

castlerobber

Zen MBB Master
I'm just learning about cruzbikes, is that consider a ''standing up'' on the pedals
More or less, yes, especially when combined with swaying the boom side to side just a bit--kind of like when a rider on an upright sways the bike side to side when standing to climb a hill or sprint.

Patineto

More or less, yes, especially when combined with swaying the boom side to side just a bit--kind of like when a rider on an upright sways the bike side to side when standing to climb a hill or sprint.
Man you guys and GIRLS are doing such a great job making me crazy for the cruzbikes..

I also assume the arms come to play helping the legs push even harder..

This maneuver is great for both climbing and acceleration. In climbing it gives you a brief change in position and can be a huge psychological advantage as well as a physical benefit. But since I ride with groups of DF riders more often than other recumbents, where I really see the difference is in urban stop and go traffic. Sitting up gives me an acceleration boost at stop lights and stop signs. I don't yoyo off the back of the group anymore due to the acceleration difference.

One note of caution regarding this though. Your arms can put you into a bonk state faster than your legs. Over reliance on your arms during a ride can really mess up your energy reserves. Ration this procedure out relative to you entire planned ride. I also added rowing to my off season regimen to give me a stronger core and arms after my first Cruzbike season. Made a big difference.

My experience is that my Vendetta works better than my previous bents for the following reasons in order of importance: