Tune up assistance

sandersonjd

Okay, let me start by saying that I'm fairly decent mechanically, but I'm no bike expert. After owning the Quest 150 for almost 2 years, I decided to take it to my local bike shop for a tune-up. I asked him to make sure that the brakes were working properly, to make sure that the gears were in synch, and to clean it up. Of course, being fascinated by the bike, he did a lot of stuff that I didn't ask him to do. (sigh) For the most part the things he did weren't bad, but I'm having the following issues that I could use some help diagnosing.

First, there seems to be a lot of drag on the peddles. It's harder to move on a flat surface than it used to be, and applying the extra force is throwing off my timing a bit. He said he replaced the bolts on the front hub. I'm wondering if they have been tightened down too much. Is there a particular torque to apply to make sure that this is working properly?

Second, there is a low-level vibration that seems to be transferring through the seat and I'm hearing it (and feeling it) as a low rumble. It's absolutely driving me crazy. He said he tightened the bolts on the shock. Could this be the source? I can't really tell where it originates, but I need to get this fixed or I'm going to end up getting headaches every time that I ride.

thanks for any help you can give me.

jphipps